Songs of the Moment

I’ve been a little obsessed with music lately. I Just bought 6 singles on iTunes that have been stuck in my head for the last couple weeks (it alternates between a mental medley and a mental playlist) and an album. So, I present the 5 songs I’m obsessed with right now. If I have a different medley in my head this time next week, I’ll do another one and make it a series.

5) Blurred Lines – Robin Thicke feat. Pharrell & TI
If you listen to the lyrics, it’s pretty dirty. And the hashtags in the music video get a bit annoying. But dang if it isn’t catchy.

4) Get Lucky – Daft Punk feat. Pharrell
I was singing along to the chorus the other day and it just sort of hit me that the song’s basically about doing it all night. But again, catchy.

3) Feel This Moment – Pitbull feat. Christina Aguilera
Confession: I don’t like Pitbull. He annoys me because he’s everywhere and he’s not a very good wrapper. Also, it bugs me that this song uses the hook from “Take On Me” and every time I hear it I wonder if it was copyrighted and whether or not he got permission to use it. But then Christina starts singing, I turn it up, and belt my head off with her.

2) Can’t Hold Us – Mackelmore & Ryan Lewis
I might be the only Seattleite in my age group that’s not crazy for Mackelmore. Maybe I’m leery of smash hits like “Thrift Shop.” Or maybe I just don’t like “Thrift Shop.” This is definitely one I sing along to, though, plus he make a Shark Week reference.

1) Cups (When I’m Gone) – Anna Kendrick
Pitch Perfect was one of my favorite movies of last year, and included about a minute of this song. So how thrilled was I when Nikki pointed out that this song was one and the same when we heard it on the radio? The result: stuck in my head.

3 thoughts on “Songs of the Moment

  1. oh my goodness, so many comments I need to put in this reply!
    1. You’re right, Pitbull isn’t a good “wrapper” – nor is he a good rapper! haha (just had to tease you a little for your typo!)
    2. I also love that song though, for the Christina parts! 🙂
    3. I was JUST telling Brady about Macklemore (after we saw that they did a surprise performance on the roof of Dick’s in Capitol Hill the other night) and how I was pretty sure I was the only person who ISN’T crazy about them! So now I read that I’m not the only one. I hate that Thrift Shop song. I have to change the station if it comes on the radio because it’s annoying. Which in turn has led me to not even attempt to listen to any of their other songs…but maybe I should give the other songs a fair chance.
    4. I’m happy that I got mentioned in this blog post about the Anna Kendrick song! 😉

    • 1) Oh my goodness, I really made that typo didn’t I? *hangs head in shame*
      2) n/a
      3) It wasn’t actually a surprise performance, they were doing filming for a music video. The reason so many people showed up was because someone said falsly that it was a performance.
      4) Yes, I name-drop when possible. 🙂

      • Ok, the key thing in notation #3 was not the fact that they did a performance/video/whatever…the point was that we BOTH aren’t huge fans of “Thrift Shop” 🙂
        Silly Lindsey…

Leave a comment